Saint Іoann Predtecha Church was built in 1842 as a warm, heated in winter, a Church at St Nicholas Cathedral. Originally had a classic style. 10 one-store stone benches of the Cathedral formed a shopping arcade - a long enclosure surrounded by an open gallery. Benches fenced off Cathedral complex from the square from the East on the same line with the apse of the Church of Іoann Predtecha , closely adhering to it. In the 20-ies of the 19th century the Church was distorted and converted into a municipal House of culture. An open gallery of shopping arcades was bricked up.
The Church of Saint Іoann Predtecha was built in 1842. on the site of an ancient stone Church of St. Varvara (17th century), which was damaged by fire in 1792. The Church had a hospital and a school.
The original Church of Іoann Predtecha was built in the classical style. Stone, hall-type, had a large round drum with semi-columns, and semicircular dome. The inputs and the Eastern apse was decorated with a four-columned Tuscan order with triangular pediments.
All the icons of this temple was decorated with silver vestments, donated by Ivan Artemivich Kulikov (chief of Nicholas Cathedral) and his brother.
The construction of the Church of Іoann Predtecha (the original form) together with shopping arcades, its shape and proportions harmonize with the historical and architectural environment of the Cathedral square. Along with the now demolished two-story bell tower, a chapel, and the stone trading stalls, it formed a solid composition, unique framing of Nicholas Cathedral.