1757-1765. Pokrovska Str., 23&amp;lt;br /&amp;gt;&lt;br /&gt;<br /><br />
This type of temples known since the 6th century. In the 18th century the center of the construction of churches is Chernihiv. Temples were built of this type is rare, because the Intercession church is a unique monument of architecture. Protection Church History Unfortunately, there is a lot of information about the history of the construction of the temple Nijinsky. Preserved only folk legends. Folk legends According to them, the site of modern Protection Church was a wooden church of Nativity. It was built around the early 17th century. The exact date of completion of nobody knows, but in the 30s of the 17th century the church held worship. In the liturgical book "Tryfoloy" Homynskyy priest John wrote that this book donated the Nativity of the Virgin in 1633. After a few years in place of the previous temple the locals built a wooden church, sanctified in honor of St. Mary. Most likely, the consecration was done no later than 1636. This version is confirmed in handwritten record gospel donated Philistine Ephraim Mary Church of the Intercession December 16, 1636. The current stone church was built during 1757-1765 years of local religious community, which also included many wealthy merchants. Originally the church was decorated with characteristic for Ukrainian Baroque high dome. Unfortunately, up to now it has not survived, but during the restoration was restored. In the 19th century, on the west side of the house built a two-tiered bell tower. The interior is decorated with murals Protection Church in oils, which fragments have survived. Not preserved old church iconostasis. Intercession Church and St. Basil`s Fair, which was conducted in October became known not only in the beautiful ancient city, but far outside the city. In the Soviet period the church of the Intercession experiencing difficult times. By order Nizhyn party officials in 1960 the church was closed. But one has not been closure: iconostasis was destroyed, burned religious books, even the floor of the house pillaged for building materials, dropped call. Also drafted under which the premises of the church would be located museum. In March 1993, Virgin Church was returned to the community of the Ukrainian Orthodox Church. Restoration of the temple lasted from 1997 to 2001. During this time restored the dome, Conch, facade. Now the parish church publishes the newspaper "Protection" and gradually restores Nicholas Church , which stands nearby.
Church of the Intercession in the beautiful ancient city is a model tetrakonhovoho house.