The power plant was built in 1914-1916 by Kiev architect P.H. Slastiona. The first electric light bulbs were illuminated in Nizhyn in 1916.
This building was functioning up to the Second World War, during which it was partially destroyed. Later there was a Craft school and a Gym. Today, in this building there is a Nizhyn children and youth sport school.