The Trading ranks are the part of the architectural complex of the St. Nicholas Cathedral, which was formed in the XVIІ - XIX centuries.
They were built (rebuilt) in 1842 at the same time as the warm church of St. John the Forerunner. There were 10 bricked one-storey shops that formed a long building, surrounded by an open gallery. The shops separated the cathedral complex from the east of the square along the line with the apse of the Church of John the Forerunner, adhering closely to it. After the closure of the cathedral by the Soviet authorities, the stores moved into the ownership of the Nizhyn City Council. In the 20's of the twentieth century the church was rebuilt in a city House of culture. The Trading ranks also became part of this institution.