In 1852-55 and 1863-67, Leonid Hlibov (1827-93), a Ukrainian writer, poet, fabulist, editor, and public activist lived in this house.
A residential wooden house was built at the beginning of the 19th century. It belonged to a priest Fedir Bordonos, who was a father-in-law of Ukrainian poet-fabulist Leonid Hlibov. In 1852- 1855, Leonid Hlibov lived in the house, while studying at Nizhyn Law Lyceum.
In 1863- 1867, Leonid Hlibov lived there under the supervision of police, after being dismissed from the pedagogical work in Chernigiv as he was accused of connections with democratic organizations. In 1881 Leonid Hlibov stayed in the house for the last time, when he came to the opening of the monument to Mykola Gogol (Hohol) and reading poems dedicated to the writer.
The building is a wooden, wedged, plastered log house with a four-slope iron roof.
Leonid Ivanovych Hlibov was born in Veselyi Podil village, Horol district. His father, Ivan Nazarovych Hlibov, was a
horse herds manager at the mansion of a local landlord, Havrylo Rodzianko. Leonid Hlibov spent his childhood in Horby village, Kremenchuk district, where his father moved together with the family after getting a new job there.
The future fabulist got primary education at home with the help of his mother, and in 1840 entered Poltava Gymnasium, where he began to write poetry and published his first book “Leonid Hlibov’s Poetry” (1847). He tried himself in the genre of fables while studying at Nizhyn Lyceum of Higher Sciences; at the same time he published some fables in a newspaper “Chernigovskiie gubernskiie vedomosti”. After graduating from the lyceum in 1855, Hlibov worked as a teacher of History and Geography in Chornyi Ostriv in Podillia, and starting from 1858 – he worked in Chergihiv male gymnasium, devotedly advocating progressive teaching methods. Hlibov’s Family was surrounded by intelligent people of Chernigiv. In 1861, the writer became an editor and publisher of a newly created newspaper “Chernigovskii listok”. On the pages of that weekly paper socially acute materials, against local government officials, tyrannical landowners, malversation of judicial authorities often appeared. On the grounds of connections with Ivan Andrushchenko, the member of an illegal organization “Zemlia I volia”, in 1863 Hlibov was deprived of a right to teach people and put under police supervision.
During two years, the poet lived in Nizhyn, and came back to Chernihiv in 1865, where he worked as a clerk at governor’s office. Starting from 1867 he became the administrator of Zemsky Printing House, and continued active creative work. He wrote collections of his fables, published “butterflies”- books, feuilletons, theatrical reviews, journalistic articles, poetry in Russian, and writings for children.
In Ukrainian literature, Hlibov gained wide popularity as a fabulist. In general he wrote more than one hundred works of this genre. The first book “Leonid Hlibov’s Fables”, which consisted of 36 writings, was edited in Kyiv in 1863. However, almost all the copies of the edition were destroyed according to “Valuiev Tsircular”. In 1872, Hlibov managed to edit the second, completed book of fables, and in 1882 – the third one, which was a retyped version of the second book. Other attempts to edit books were in vain because of censorial bans.
Hlibov died on the 10th of November, 1893, in Chernigiv, where he was burried on the territory of Sviati Triitsi (Saint Trinity) Monastery (Tolstoi Street, Boldina hora – a monument of landscape art).