Vvedensky monastery

Dating: ІІ пол. XVII ст
Number of the order of the Ministry of Culture of the entry in the register : 824
Date of the order of the Ministry of Culture of the entry in the register : 1970-01-01
Address: вул. Овдіївська 46
Epoch: the Cossack Age;
Personalities: Abbess Yelevfseriya; Abbess Smaragda;
Epoch: the Imperial epoch;
Categories: architectural monument;
show on the map

the second half of the XVII century

Vvedensky monastery is a women's monastery which was built in the second half of the XVII century. The flourishing time of the monastery was marked in the second half of the XVII century, when there was a specialized school for girls, an icon painting workshop, a hospital and a hotel there. 200 nuns lived in the monastery in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. In 1920’s the monastery was closed by the Bilshovyk authorities. The monastery manor housed a “Vorovskyi’s Children town” and a military unit (art-depot). The monastery was revived in 1998.
Author(-s): Желєзко Р.А.

Location on the map